Re-Sick: The Sick Daze Saga Continues

Okay, so, I’ve been a little MIA. I could totes blame work/school/homework, but instead I am going to blame my immune system. In my last post, I complained about being sick, and, well, I’m still sick ūüė≠.

Honestly, I thought it was only a short little end-of-summer-beginning-of-fall cold. I had a sore throat and some sinus pressure for a couple days, and then it all kind of dissipated into a mild cough. By Monday, I was on the upswing and feeling way better. Enter: Tuesday. My cough got worse. I went for a run that I probably shouldn’t have. During my past week of sick, I continued working out, I went for 2 short (less than 4 miles) runs, but mostly stuck to strength-focused with little cardio Nike Training Club workouts. I always felt better after working out, but maybe it would have been better to just…not workout. At least for a couple days. Or just do yoga or something less strenuous than strength training. Ah, well, live and learn, right?

Since I am “re-sick” I finally took my ass to the doctor. He prescribed me an antibiotic and told me to get some nasal spray and Robutussin for my symptoms. Please work modern medicine,¬†please.

11992053_10206971707787338_676925479_n

Rite Aid haul!!!!!!

The biggest issue with being sick is that it makes me want to do nothing.¬†I don’t mean in the physical sense, obviously I was able to exercise, but in the mental sense. Working out requires very little thought, but homework requires a lot. Sinus pressure + piles of reading is not a good combination. Now that the sinus pressure is back, textbook reading once again feels like even more of a chore than normal.

I’ve also been making some food choices based on being sick. Obviously, Vitamin C is at the top of my list (even though the jury’s out on whether or not that’s helpful). So I’ve been munchin’ on some oranges.¬†Honestly, fruit in general have been a go-to since it’s east to pack for snacks at school.

12030867_10206971707827339_1363032380_n 12030659_10206971707907341_1717321303_n

I’ve also found myself eating more oatmeal in the past week. It’s filling, delicious, and doesn’t bother my throat (especially when it’s warm).

12021944_10206971707987343_1704411369_n

Looks like death (kind of like how I feel), but it’s Chocolate PB overnight oats, so it tastes a lot better than death.

Smoothie bowls have also been consumed. Fruit nutrient power + smooth consistency + being relatively cold has been good on my throat as well.

12023134_10206971707867340_1771181735_n

PB & J Smoothie bowl: 1/2 a frozen banana + 3/4 cup(ish) frozen mixed berries + 2 tbsp PB2 + 1/2 cup(ish) unsweetened vanilla almond milk + handful of baby spinach + 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Of course, I can’t live without salad, so those have been a staple as well. Plus, I’m telling myself all the nutrients in the vegetables have healing power. Not sure how accurate that is considering now I’m on antibiotics, but nothing comes between me and my salads.

12032605_10206971707947342_1037244164_n

Salad power, heal me!!!!!

So hopefully with the addition of antibiotics I’ll be on the upswing. Definitely not going to exercise today, and I doubt I will tomorrow. Hopefully by Saturday I can ease back into it with yoga.¬†My focus is on NOT BEING SICK anymore. Secondary focus: posting more often. Getting sick totally threw me out of my school/work routine that I really hadn’t even gotten into yet.¬†Sigh.¬†I love a routine so that really sucks.

Okay, I’ve complained enough. What’s up with you guys?

P.S. I’m linking up today’s post with Amanda from Running With Spoons. Thanks for hosting Thinking Out Loud Thursday!

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. Have you ever been “re-sick?”

2. What are your go-to sick foods?

3. How much time off from working out do you usually take when you’re sick?

BYEEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

