First Day of Classes Jitters + Weekly Workouts

Greetings! Hope everyone had a FAB long weekend. While I spent most of my time working, I did go out in Boston for my friend Steph’s 22nd birthday on Saturday. They played 22 by Tay Tay at the bar for her, and obvi we were in all our glory dancing to her.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Also, when I got home from Boston I was drunk-craving something salty (don’t worry, we had a DD, not trying to drink and drive). Sadly, there was no pizza in the fridge (probably for the best, TBH). So….I made a ham sandwich wrap? And then took a picture for this blog? I don’t know why but I just think it’s funny.

IMG_2891

For drunk me, making a ham sandwich is akin to making a gourmet holiday feast.

ANYWAY, today was my first day of actual, in-class grad school (cue Finding Nemo “first day of school! first day of school!”). I don’t think I’ve ever been so anxious for a first day of classes in my life. It was totally a combo of the annoying commute (I parked at a T station outside of Boston and took the T in, but I’m thinking I may just drive there from now on, we’ll see), being unfamiliar with the campus (I had only ever been there once before), and not knowing anyone who went there. Even on my first day of undergrad classes, I was already familiar with campus from living there for a few days, and I had friends I had made at school as well as familiar faces from high school.

Felt a bit like Cady Heron pre-plastics today (gif source).

Honestly, I can’t say it was the best first day. I was a little fried and felt gross because it was suuuuper hot out, and I was intimidated to really talk to anyone. My first class is a large Research Methods class that has a bunch of different counseling grad students in it. Luckily, my second class was a lot smaller and only had school counseling students in it. We did an icebreaker I didn’t actually hate (rare for those damn first day icebreaker games), and chatted with one of my classmates on part of my commute home on the T. The commute and being on campus just makes me want to move to Boston even more. Oy vey.

Also, I totes meant to take a picture of my first day OOTD (not that it was anything special/super trendy), but in all of my anxiety I completely forgot. I’m sure more school day OOTDs will be coming, especially as fall starts (which is by far the best season fashion-wise, IMO).

So to add to this hodge-podge post, I figure I’ll throw my weekly workouts in here as well!

WEEKLY WORKOUTS:

MONDAY: humid 3.8 mile run (9:31 pace) + Blogilates Natural Butt Lift and 10 Minute Abs videos

TUESDAY: Hot yoga

WEDNESDAY: Rest

THURSDAY: First post-half marathon long run! 7.8 miles (9:46 pace)

FRIDAY: Nike Training Club True Condition W/O + Blogilates 8 min Abs and Obliques video

SATURDAY: 3.8 mile run (9:26 pace) + Tone It Up Lift and Tone Booty Routine video + Blogilates Muffintop Massacre and Victoria’s Secret Model Ab W/O videos

SUNDAY: Total body strength at the gym

MONDAY: Random Blogilates abs and obliques day from the August calendar (side note: still haven’t received my September calendar password…I don’t really follow the calendar but I like having it for inspiration) + Yoga for Runners 30 minute routine on the Yoga Studio app

I’ve been liking my workout routine lately. I know Wednesday is going to be my rest day and Thursday is going to be my long run day. I also know that I want to fill the other days up with two shorter runs + a little bit of toning work after, two days of strength (at the gym or at home on the NTC app or something), and one day of yoga (preferably hot yoga). I kind of base this part around my schedule and how I am feeling each day. It’s the perfect amount of structure and freedom.

QUESTIONS FOR Y’ALL:

1. When was your most nerve racking/anxiety-ridden first day of school?

2. Do you schedule out all of your workouts for the week in advance, or do it a little more loosey-goosey? I suppose I fall somewhere in the middle.

3. What is the weirdest drunk-food (or drunchie) you’ve eaten? Considering my go-to drunchie is leftover pizza or, like, something super easy like cereal, the fact that I made a ham wrap is pretty impressive.

BYEEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

