Friday Favorites: Peaches and Protein

Friday is upon us once again, huzzah! Not to mention, it’s a holiday weekend! While that doesn’t really mean too much to me, since I’ll still be working, 3-day weekends still are pretty exciting. Especially since it means my first real day of class is on Tuesday rather than Monday (thus, I only have one day of classes this week, siiiiick).

Of course, Friday = favorites, so here are a few Friday faves to ring in Labor Day weekend (and unofficially ring in fall…meh). I’m linking up with Heather and Jill. Thanks for hosting!

PEACHES

IMG_2870

There are few things more delicious than a ripe, juicy peach. They’re in season and therefore cheap at the grocery store right now, and I am allllll about it. Also, they remind me of when I studied abroad in London last summer. Not really because London has amazing peaches or anything, but my friends and I would always buy them from the little fruit and vegetable street vendors when we wanted a snack. Peaches bring me back, man.

IMG_0907

Land of the…peach?

LITTLE TO-DO NOTEBOOK

IMG_2882

I’m a to-do list freak. I write them all the time, usually on little pieces of scrap paper or Post-It Notes. I picked up this little notebook for like $2 at Target so I could keep all of my daily/weekly to-do lists and shopping lists in one place. I already have a weekly planner that I put all of my homework/when I’m working/when I have meetings and appointments, and this notebook is the perfect compliment to it. Organization FTW!

PROTEIN PANCAKES

IMG_2875

Still need to work on flipping them in once piece.

YUM. I love a good protein pancake for breakfast. I hadn’t had one in a while, but whipped this baby up on Tuesday morning and was reminded of their awesomeness. I use a recipe pretty similar to the Tone It Up recipe, but I use one whole egg instead of egg whites and a whole banana instead of just half. If I followed their recipe exactly, I don’t think I’d be totally full. On Tuesday, I threw some blueberries into the mix, and topped my pancake with a scoop o’ PB (word to the wise: maybe microwave the PB to heat it up a little before trying to spread it on the pancake…trust me on this).

Speaking of PB…

PEANUT BUTTER PORTION CONTROL

FullSizeRender

If you’ve read any of my WIAW posts, you’ve probably noticed that I almost always have a spoonful of PB at the end of the day. I’m a little addicted, but it’s fine. The thing is, whenever I eat a spoonful, I usually end up eating a little more out of the jar, since it’s still open when I’m done. Recently, I’ve started putting the spoonful into a little dish, putting the jar away, and then eating the PB. It’s definitely cut back on my “oh just a little more” that probably ends up being another whole serving once I’m actually done.

“THE HILLS” BY THE WEEKND

So you’ve probably heard this on the radio (and if you haven’t, you’ve definitely heard “Can’t Feel My Face,” also good). It’s my jaaaaam. It’s a little risque, but whenever it comes on I turn up the volume start groovin’. I’m sure people in the cars next to me think I’m a weirdo, but whatevs.

UNFAVORITE: DISCONTINUED WHOLE FOODS SOY PROTEIN POWDER & BIOCHEM WHEY PROTEIN POWDER

FullSizeRender1

Goodbye old friend, I hate you, new friend.

Okay, so the Whole Foods brand soy protein powder certainly was not the tastiest or least chalky protein powder around, but it was pretty cheap (like $13ish for this container), didn’t have a lot of weird ingredients, had like 24 grams of protein, and was totally fine and pretty much undetectable in a smoothie. Apparently, all good things must come to an end, and Whole Foods discontinued their soy protein powder. Cue sadness. I had to find a quick alternative that met the cheap and good amount of protein requirements as I stood in the Whole Foods aisle. So after a solid 5 minutes of comparing different powders I settled on the Biochem Whey protein powder in vanilla. It was $20ish for the container, more than the Whole Foods brand, but less than many others, has 21 grams of protein, and a pretty short ingredient list. Sadly, it’s not great. It has this weird artificially sweet flavor that comes through in every smoothie I’ve made with it. It is sweetened with stevia, but I didn’t think that would be an issue since I use Truvia as a sweetener for many things. Maybe it’s not the stevia, but something else making it taste weird. Whatever the case may be, once I finish up the container of Biochem Whey protein, I will not be repurchasing it. Now, I just need to figure out what protein powder I should purchase.

That does it for today! What are your long weekend plans? I’ll be working, but on Saturday I’m headed into Boston for a friend’s birthday, which should be a lot of fun!

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. What is your favorite fruit of the moment?

2. What protein powder would you recommend that meets the cheap/pretty good amount of protein/pretty short ingredient list requirements? Seriously, I need all the help I can get! Totally open to ordering online if it’s not really sold in stores, too.

3. Are you a to-do list/planner person?

4. Current jam?

BYEEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

