Last Weekend of August + Weekly Workouts

Monday, Monday, Monday. Oy vey. Did you at least have a good weekend? I did! Hopefully the goodness from the weekend can spill over into this week, as I start to gear up for school (mixed feelings about that), fall, and getting into a normal routine once again (I am pretty excited about that, I’m a sucker for a routine, and that may be the most lame thing I’ve ever said). Here’s a look into my weekend!

On Friday, I grocery shopped and made a freaking bomb salad. We had a little leftover grilled chicken and deli turkey, so I sliced both of those up and threw them on top of spinach, cucumber, tomatoes, red onion, and mushrooms. I topped it off with some balsamic vinaigrette and enjoyed it on the porch.

IMG_2850

I worked Friday night, and then went out for a co-worker’s 21st birthday. She had a grand ol’ time, and it was fun to go out with work friends. It’s nice to see everyone outside of the work setting (and not wearing all black).

Saturday-day was pretty low-key. I woke up at 9:40 and had this urge to go to yoga. Of course, the class started at 10 and the studio is 15-20ish minutes away from my house. By some miracle, I got my butt into a “comfortable seated position” on my mat just a few minutes later than class started. Double miracle, the class wasn’t crowded at all, so I could just saunter over to the first empty area I found and not make anyone move around for my rude, late self. Triple miracle, this was one of the best yoga classes I’ve been to in a while. A lot of it definitely had to do with my mood, I was just so down to downward dog that morning. I also was able to get into bird of paradise for the first time! I realize this is probably a pretty easy, basic pose for most people, but I am literally the least flexible person ever so it was kind of a big deal for me.

Apparently, this weekend was the weekend of salads. I was going up to my friend’s beach house in York, ME for an “end of summer” party that night, and made a quick salad for dinner before I left.

Runny yolks + salad dressing = deliciousness

I also grabbed a random sweet potato when I went grocery shopping, and had that on the side. I made it in the microwave because I’m lazy, but I definitely want to get experimental with sweet potatoes as fall hits and sweet potatoes are everywhere I plan on cooking with them more.

FullSizeRender24

Sweet potato + pepper + smoked paprika + adobo = more deliciousness

I had a GR8 time at the party. So great that I didn’t actually remember to take any pictures, whoops. Let’s just say I drank some vodka sodas, hung out with friends, danced my butt off (Tay Tay and Nicki were on the playlist, couldn’t resist), and ate “slutty” brownies (brownies with OREOS inside, holy crap) and homemade pizza.

Sunday morning, I headed home and napped a bit (I wasn’t hungover, just tired), and then went to Assembly Row in Sommerville (a city right outside of Boston for those of you not really in the Boston area) with Maddie. Assembly Row is a new, super nice shopping area. While I wasn’t into a lot of the stores there (most of them were pretty expensive/for an older, more professional crowd than Maddie and I), it was fun to walk around on such a nice day.

IMG_2857

Not gonna lie, asking random people to take pictures of you is never not awk.

After we finished (mostly window) shopping, we grabbed dinner at a restaurant in Assembly Row, Earl’s Kitchen and Bar. Continuing my salad streak, I ordered the Santa Fe Chicken salad, which had grilled chicken, feta, avocado, black beans, corn, and greens with peanut vinaigrette dressing. OMG it was so good. As a salad connoisseur, I can definitely say it was one of the best salads I’ve had in quite some time.

FullSizeRender25

Mountain of great-salad-ness.

Of course, Maddie and I couldn’t not stop at JP Licks when there was one right in Assembly Row. I got a cup of PB Chip fro-yo (trying to be a bit more healthy since going completely crazy during my half marathon week). It was bomb, obvi.

IMG_2856

After getting home, I ended the night with a solid strength-training session at the gym. I felt like I could conquer the world as I was on my way home. I don’t always feel that way after working out, but it is such a great feeling when I do!

Speaking of working out, here’s my week of workouts. I didn’t really have a plan going into the week, I just kind of did what I felt like doing. While that was good for the post-half marathon week, I think I need to get back into having a weekly plan now that my life is going to get a bit more hectic.

MONDAY: Rest

TUESDAY: Hot yoga

WEDNESDAY: Total body strength at the gym

THURSDAY: First post-half marathon run! 3.4 miles (8:47 pace) + PopSugar butt workout (that wasn’t very challenging, probably won’t do it again) + Caroline Jordan ab workout (that was very challenging, probably will do again)

FRIDAY: 3.8 mile run (9:04 pace) + Blogilates “Booty Booty Booty” workout (one of my faaaaaves) + Blogilates 5 minute ab workout

SATURDAY: Hot yoga

SUNDAY: Total body strength at the gym

PS: I’m linking up my weekend recap with Erin from Her Heartland Soul. Thanks for hosting!

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. If you could put together your dream salad, what would be in it? Honestly, I may just be on the post-Santa Fe Chicken Salad high, but I think that would be it. Maybe I’d throw in some tomatoes and red onion as well, but that was darn near perfect.

2. What are some sweet potato recipes you’re into? I like easy 🙂

3. Did you watch the VMAs/should I watch them? I missed them last night. I love my girl Milerz, but are they actually worth watching? Should I just check out the highlights?

BYEEEEE

Julie

4 thoughts on “Last Weekend of August + Weekly Workouts

Leave a Reply

