Lately I’ve Been: Grad School, Last Long Run, and Fun Stuff

Lately I’ve been…I’ve been losing sleep. Wait, I hate that song. No, but really, I got my first 8-hour night of sleep in like 2-3 weeks on Tuesday and it was amazing. So, since I haven’t been sleeping, what have I been doing? Not blogging, that’s for sure. Whoops!

Anywho, the biggest reason for my absence from blogging/sleeping is that I FINISHED MY FIRST GRAD SCHOOL CLASSES!!!!!! Yes friends, my first SUMmester is over. It was only 2 classes, but a lot of work. I definitely need to keep the procrastination in check come September 8th when I have 4 classes. Let’s just say I spent all day Sunday writing my two final papers.

IMG_2789

The face of a girl who needs PB, sleep, and probably a glass of wine or five.

It’s over now, I have 3 weeks off, and I really am excited to start in-class classes (online classes are not my thing).

Aside from finishing my first bit of grad school, I also completed my last long run on Thursday! 11 miles. I felt pretty darn good, if I do say so myself. Only one bathroom break right in the middle, but other than that I ran the entire time. My half is this Sunday and I’m nervous, but excited. I hear the course is hilly, but at least my neighborhood where I’ve been doing my long runs is pretty hilly as well. We shall see…

IMG_2775 IMG_2776

P.S. I’m loving these Under Armour spandex. They are totes part of my race day outfit (yes, I’ve thought more than I’m proud of about my race day outfit, gotta look good for the race-day instagram).

While I was in Maine at the beginning of last week, I did yoga on the dock. It was super serene. I don’t really have anything else to say about that, just that it was lovely.

IMG_2750

I got a flat tire. I didn’t notice until I was in my driveway, so at least I didn’t have to wait in some random place for AAA to come. It’s fine now, I had a donut on my car for a day and then got a new tire. A flat tire is certainly not the worst thing that could happen to my car.

IMG_2774

Maybe I should rename this post “highlights from my Snap Story”

I went to Boston in a party bus for my friend Brandon’s 21st birthday. The party bus was SO FUN. The bar we went to, Howl at the Moon, was even more fun. It was huge, had a dance floor, and a live band playing a solid mix of Top 40/Throwbacks. Not gonna lie, the vodka sodas were kind of weak, but I did a solid amount of pre-gaming on the bus anyway (broke girl probs).

Steph and I before we danced our butts off.

Well, that about does it for my life as of late. I’m super excited about having a few weeks off before school start back up again. As much as I complain about grad school, I really did enjoy what I was learning, and my program has a lot of real-life school counseling experience coming up after the first semester (a huge draw for me). Right now, life is good. Sometimes I just need to remind myself of that 🙂

Questions for you lovely readers:

`1. For anyone who has run a race: do you plan your race-day outfits? Am I weird for that? (I mean, I’m weird for a lot of reasons, why not add that to the list?)

2. Are you into Snapchat? I love it for sending stupid pictures to my friends, and I’ll occasionally post anything semi-interesting from my life to my Story, but I’ve never been someone with, like, a 3-minute long Story. Sadly, my life is not that exciting.

3. What is the most exciting thing you’ve done recently? For me, it was my night out in Boston. Also, I did hot yoga tonight, which is a pretty frequent occurence, but I felt alive after. Like it was hot as hell, but I felt like I could conquer the world when I got out. So, that was like, kind of exciting too.

BYEEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

