Friday Favorites: Healthy/Unhealthy Food and Singing Cats

Okay, okay, at the time of typing this it’s technically Saturday at 12:29 AM (EST). If that means this Friday Favorites post turns into a Saturday pumpkin, well, you know the saying, when life gives you pumpkins, make pumpkin-spiced lattes (or…something like that).

Whether it’s Friday or Saturday, here’s a look at my favorites from the week. I’m linking up with Heather, Clare, and Jill, so be sure to check out their posts for more weekly-recap fun!

MY NEW LAPTOP:

FullSizeRender7

YAAAAS. It was honestly time for a new laptop for a while. My old charger breaking was the straw that broke the camel’s back and finally got me to just get a new one. S/O to Elizabeth for a) doing all of the pre-purchase research and b) doing all of the post-purchase set up. I truly could not have done this without her. I am so NOT technologically savvy. Seriously, I even type with two fingers like an elderly person (not sure what I was doing during the typing lessons we had in second grade). Had it not been for Elizabeth’s great help I would have either just settled with another Mac (which are good computers, just really expensive for what you’re actually getting) or I would already have a virus or something. OH, btw I got an HP. Not sure of the model but it’s 15.6 in, i7, has Windows 10, and flips into a tablet (a feature I truly doubt I’ll ever use).

EGG SCRAMBLES

FullSizeRender4

Not the most photogenic of meals, but a great option when I want something delicious, easy, and healthy. Our fridge has been pretty barren for the past couple days (planning on fixing this with a trip to the grocery store v soon), but we always have eggs on hand. I usually just throw some onion, garlic, and whatever other fresh/frozen veggies and other leftovers we have in a pan with a random assortment of spices, heat that up for a bit, and then pour the eggs in at the very end and scramble them into everything. I had this for lunch the past couple days, and honestly, I should make scrambles even when we have more than just random veggies and eggs left in the fridge because they’re bomb.

8 LB WEIGHTS

FullSizeRender6

finally bought heavier-than-5-lb weights for at home workouts. Ideally, I wanted 10 or 12 pounders, but everything I could find online and in stores were at least $30 for a pair. I’m cheap and didn’t want to pay that much. I saw these in Marshall’s today for $17 and even though they’re a little lighter that what I wanted, they were totally worth it. I used them in the Nike Training Club workout I completed this afternoon and could definitely feel the extra couple pounds.

“CHEAT” MEALS

FullSizeRender5

If this is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

I’m not gonna lie, the past few days I’ve been a little bit unhealthy in some of my food choices. Case in point, the photo above is the chicken fritters with fries meal I got at the Texas Roadhouse (where I don’t actually think there are healthy options tbh). I definitely go through phases of being more and less lax with my food choices, and I am in a bit of an unhealthy phase. With summer winding down, it’s hard to say no to going out for ice cream and drinks or turning down s’mores and a beer at a fire. I eat a healthy breakfast and lunch, exercise, and I figure I can live a little later in the day. I’ll probably get a little more health-conscious with my eating choices as summer cools off, but for now, I’m enjoying every bite of french fries and ice cream. Bonus points for me because I am definitely in a better place with eating now than I was last fall when I was super restrictive and wouldn’t let this meal at the Texas Roadhouse happen. Progress!

THE ARISTOCATS

Everybody wants to be a cat (image source).

So I didn’t actually watch this movie this week, and I don’t actually like cats (they terrify me). However, we were having  discussion about out favorite Disney movies at work (we talk about the deep, important things), and The Aristocats popped into my head. The Aristocats is seriously my favorite Disney movie. It’s SO GOOD. I watched it a million times as a kid on VHS (#tbt), and when I saw that it was on Netflix last semester, my roommates and I had an Aristocats movie night. Even though I didn’t watch it this week, it’s an old favorite I remembered this week and will probably watch again in the very near future.

I also feel a strong connection to Marie.

That concludes this week’s Saturday morning late Friday night favorites! What were you loving this week?

A few more questions for you lovely humans:

1. Do you know of anywhere (online/in store) that sells relatively cheap dumbbells? I’m still on the hunt for a pair of 10-12 lb ones if they happen to be like…$25 max (I’m so cheap, I know).

2. Do you go through healthy/unhealthy eating phases?

3. What’s your favorite Disney Movie? The Aristocats is definitely #1 for me, but I have a place in my heart for Cinderella (mostly because I love Gus Gus and I played the Stepmother when we did Cinderella in high school, being evil is so much fun!).

BYEEEEE

Julie

One thought on “Friday Favorites: Healthy/Unhealthy Food and Singing Cats

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I’m not really a big disney fan but I do love cats. Have always had some cats & can’t imagine my life without them.

    Are you an Amazon prime member? Sometimes they have good sales on weights (and no shipping!). Target can be good for that too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

