Running Survey (Sent from my iPhone)

Hello from my iPhone! Sadly, my laptop charger is broken and my laptop is almost dead. I’ve been planning on getting a new laptop for a while anyway since mine is old and slow, and I don’t want to buy a new charger for a laptop I plan on replacing soon anyway. I think this is the universe telling me to finally bite the bullet and just get a new one already (planning on making the switch from Mac back to PC 😬). Anyway, I could post from my mom’s laptop, but why upload a bunch of pictures from my phone to her laptop that she doesn’t want when I could just post from the handy little WordPress app?

Anyway, I recently saw the Running Survey as a post on Lean, Clean, and Brie’s blog. Though I wasn’t personally tagged in it, I thought it was an interesting and fun survey, so I figured I’d do it here!

Would you rather run along a beach path or a mountain trail?

Though I haven’t done much of either, probably a mountain trail. I’ve done a couple of hilly trail runs and they’re definitely challenging (mostly because I am pretty clumsy and have to watch out not to trip over a root or something and like, break my ankle). However, I hate running on the beach. It hurts my knees, there’s no shade, and really just no fun. When I’m at the beach I like to be as lazy as possible: lounge chair, good book, and maybe a beer. I will walk on the beach to get ice cream though…

If you could choose the flavor of Gatorade at your next race’s aid states, what would it be?

Ummm, how about we replace it with like water or something that’s not Gatorade? The flavor doesn’t really matter, I really just don’t like Gatorade.

If I have you a $100 gift card to a running store, what would be the first thing that you would purchase with it?

OMG if only. Probably more spandex shorts in ridiculous colors and prints. I steal my sister’s Nike Pro ones she has for volleyball occasionally, and snagged a pair of Under Armour ones from Marshalls recently (and I may or may not be going back for more today) and I’m so into them. For some reason I feel like more of a badass when I run in them compared to when I’m wearing just regular running shorts. Is that weird?


New fave shorts. May be planning another trip to Marshalls for more in the near future…

Do you prefer to follow a training plan of wake up and decide then how far and how fast you want to run?

I make a rough plan for the week and usually like to have one long run + 2 shorter runs a week (the other days consist of strength training, yoga, and one rest day). However, since I’m currently training for a half marathon, it is nice to have all of my long runs mapped out for me already.

Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end on the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?

I feel like almost everyone would have the same response to this question (myself included): start uphill, end downhill.

When you can’t run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do?

Strength training, hot yoga, and I’m trying to incorporate more burpees/jump squats/other jumping moves into my routine, even though I really do kind of despise jumping. I also want to try a barre class and get back into spinning (which was a staple of mine Freshman year of college).

What is your preference: out and back, point to point, or loop runs?

Definitely loop runs.

If you could recommend ANY running related item to a new runner, it would be a…

Good pair of running shoes. Seriously, go to a running specialty store and get fitted. You’ll have the best pair of shoes for your needs. You’re probably gonna be spending a lot of money on running shoes whether or not you get fitted (and fittings are typically free), so you might as well put in the extra 10 or so minutes to make sure you’re splurging on the right shoes. I LOVE my Mizuno Wave Inspire 11s.

IMG_2358

 

Love these puppies.

 Do you ever see any wild animals while out on your runs?

No, thank god. Though I’ve been chased by a few dogs that got loose in the neighborhood before.

Ever gotten lost while out on a run?

Yup. When I was studying abroad in London last summer (please take me back), I made a wrong turn and got lost while running one evening in Southgate (where I lived). I didn’t have a GPS or anything on my phone because I didn’t have international data (which is helllllla expensive). Luckily, I was able to retrace my steps and get back to the area I knew. Really it just added an extra couple minutes to my run, but it was a little scary to be lost in a foreign country (even though I speak the language and someone probably could have pointed me in the right direction had I asked for help).

 
Not the worst place to get lost in.

If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days… what would that meal be?

A protein smoothie bowl with granola. Different fruits every day. Super boring, but really all I want after a run is something cool and sweet. I suppose ice cream would work too 🙂

IMG_2584 FullSizeRender-26

Capris or shorts… what do you run in most often?

Usually shorts. I only run in capris if it’s between like 45-55 degrees out, colder than that I go with pant-length leggings, and warmer than that (aka right now) I go for shorts. It’s kind of a treat to run in capris since I rarely ever do.

At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it is warming up and ready to go?

Probably right after the first mile. So like 9ish minutes into running (plus I usually do a 2-3 min walk before I jump into running).

What do you do with your key when you run?

Put it in my sports bra or arm band.

If you could relive any race that you have done in the past, which one?

Well, as of now I’ve only actually been in one race (Live for Liv 5k earlier this month), but it was a lot of fun, so I’d totally relive it (here’s to hoping I have similar feelings towards the upcoming half marathon)!

FullSizeRender-43

Pre-first race smiles. We were still smiling post-race, just a lot more sweaty.

What type of run is your least favorite type of run?

Honestly, I haven’t really done a tempo run or hill repeat type run (though my neighborhood is pretty hilly, so I do hilly runs a lot). As of now, my least favorite type of run is a humid run.

What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to get your run on?

1. Early=less hot and humid.

2. Early=it’s prettier outside.

3. Early=I’ll feel accomplished all day!

When you go for a run, do you leave right from your front door or do you drive somewhere to start?

95% of the time I just leave right from my front door, but occasionally I’ll change it up and drive elsewhere.


A couple of my favorite, not-right-outside-my-door running routes (though the second one used to be right outside my apartment when I lived at school…man I miss those days 😭).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Though this is part of my neighborhood route, not too shabby either.

When running in daylight: are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?

When you get as sweaty as I do, an annoyance.

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?

Hmmmm, I just tell myself it’s in my head and I’ll be so happy that I pushed through when it’s over. Not gonna lie, sometimes my self-talk does get a little mean, which probably isn’t the best, but it gets me through.

Okay, now it’s your turn! Post this survey to your blog, or answer some of the questions in the comments!

I also have a couple other questions, if you’re interested 🙂

1. Do you like Gatorade?

2. Do you sometimes get mean to yourself when you’re pushing yourself through a tough run?

3. Any laptop recommendations? My friend Elizabeth is helping me pick one out because she is tech-savvy and knows what she’s doing, while I can barely turn on a computer (it’s seriously a wonder I am able to make blog posts). However, any helpful tips are welcome!

BYEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

