One Pot Creamy Quinoa Recipe + Weekly Workouts

Hello lovely people! Today I have a suuuuuper easy one-pot meal to share with you. I used to make this a lot when I was living at school. The recipe is for a one person serving because I’m a single girl cooking for one, and, TBH, I don’t like making a big meal to eat throughout the week. My meal prep consists of chopping up veggies for salads and sandwiches, and maybe making one or two big servings of protein (like shredded chicken) to throw into my weekly dinners. Even though I’m back at home now (and my parents, bless their hearts, do a lot of the dinner cooking), this is still one of my go-to meals when I want something quick, easy, tasty, and with very little clean up involved (one pot meals are where it’s at).

FullSizeRender-60

This recipe is really customizable as well. You can basically throw in whatever veggies and spices you want to make it your own (and use whatever you’ve got in your fridge/freezer). So, without further ado, here’s the recipe:

ONE POT CREAMY QUINOA RECIPE:

Servings: 1

Cook time: 20-25 mins

INGREDIENTS:

1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed

1/2 cup chicken broth (or any other kind of chicken/veggie broth/stock you have on hand, or water)

1 cup frozen broccoli

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

1 link chicken sausage (I used Thin N Trim spinach and onion, you can use whatever sort of protein you’d like, I’ve made this with chicken, ground turkey and beef, just make sure it’s already cooked)

1/2 cup chopped-up tomato

1 handful baby spinach

1 wedge Laughing Cow Light Swiss cheese

Spices I used (adjust to your taste): pepper, garlic salt, dried oregano, smoked paprika

FullSizeRender-59

Directions:

1. Put quinoa, chicken broth, and your spices of choice into a small pot. Bring the quinoa to a boil.

2. Once quinoa is boiling, reduce to medium-low heat and add in the mushrooms and broccoli (as well as any other frozen veggies you plan to use). Cover the pot and let cook, stirring occasionally, until the broth is mostly absorbed (about 10-15 mins).

3. When the broth is mostly absorbed, add in your chicken sausage (make sure you slice it up), tomatoes, and spinach. Once again, cover the pot and let it cook until the broth is fully absorbed (about 2-3 mins).

4. When the broth is fully absorbed, remove the pot from heat and stir in the Laughing Cow cheese wedge (tip: break up the cheese wedge a bit as you put it in the pot, it is easier to stir in that way).

5. Now that the cheese is fully combined, put the quinoa mixture into a bowl and enjoy!

This recipe works with so many combos of veggies and protein. A great vegetarian option is to use an egg instead of meat. I personally like when the yolk is runny, it combines with the cheese and makes the quinoa even more creamy!

Also, since this past week has ended, I wanted to leave you with a quick weekly workout update.

WEEKLY WORKOUTS:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 9 mile run (9:19 pace)

Wednesday: Total body strength workout at the gym

Thursday: 4 mile run (10:26 pace…super slow because my first two miles were on a random trail in Maine with lots of hills/rocks/thinks I could trip and sprain my ankle on, I got much faster for the second two miles on the street) + Nike Training Club Better Butt W/O + Caroline Jordan abs W/O

Friday: Nike Training Club Super Fusion W/O + Blogilates 5 Min Ab Express W/O

Saturday: The Blogilates Calendar Ab day (I think it was the one from 7/20, not sure though) + Lululemon Yoga Video (wasn’t able to get to hot yoga this week, so this replaced it)

Sunday: 5 mile run (9:45 pace…another slow run, maybe it was a combo of tired legs, just-woke-up-from-a-nap brain, and humidity, or maybe I was just slow and that’s that) + Blogilates Perfect Legs W/O

I hope everyone has a great weekend, and I hope this week brings good things as well. Let me know if you try this recipe and if you made any adjustments!

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. If you cook for one (or just two), do you like to meal prep a big meal to eat during the week, or are you more of a prep a few ingredients but make a smaller meal throughout the week kind of person? Usually I’m the latter, unless I know I have a busy week ahead and need to have something I just need to reheat throughout the week.

2. What is your idea of the perfect day off? Super random, but just a thought that crossed my mind. I think mine involves running in the morning, hanging out with friends outside during the day, and going out at night. Pretty generic, but it works!

BYEEEEEE

Julie

One thought on “One Pot Creamy Quinoa Recipe + Weekly Workouts

Leave a Reply

