Friday Favorites #2: AKA Saturday Favorites

Okay, soooooo this was supposed to be my Friday favorites post, but I had to postpone this post (postpone the post, HAH…I forgive you if you didn’t laugh) because I (obviously) put off all of my homework due at 11:59 on Friday until Friday afternoon, and then at night, well, you’ll see shortly (I’m sure the suspense is killing you). So even though it’s Saturday, I’m going against the grain and giving you my Friday Favorites.

Also, I’m linking up with Heather, Clare, and Jill. Head to their blogs to see more fun Friday posts!

TAYLOR SWIFT CONCERT

IMG_2661

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Okay, so maaaaaybe I went to the Taylor Swift concert at Gillette Stadium with my sister instead of writing up this blog post last night. I figured it was worth a late Friday Favorites. No, but really, the concert was amazing. Tay Tay was fantastic, she had a 2+ hour set (which I feel like is pretty freaking long, but it went by so QUICK), and was perfect for all of it. My favorite song from the show was Wildest Dreams (which is probably like one of my top 3 from her album), but honestly even the songs I didn’t really like were fun. We had the epitome nosebleed seats, second-to-last row in the highest section, but we had a clear view of the stage, plus Gillette had huge monitors, so we could see Tay Tay in all her glory. TBH I’ve never been to a big concert and actually had nice seats (minus being on the floor for the last 3 songs of a Lana Del Rey concert), as long as the crowd is fun (which it was), I’m all good. And if you’re ever considering going to a Taylor Swift concert, GO. Seriously. Get the cheapest nosebleedy-est tickets you can find and you’ll still have fun.

MAINE

IMG_2585

This week, I snuck in a quick trip to my family’s lake house (think cabin-in-the-woods more than, like, a nice lake house). It was so nice to chill in Maine with no responsibilities (can’t do online homework when you don’t have internet…right?). I basically just hung out with my family (we all seem to get along better up there), read, napped, and ate. I wasn’t completely lazy, I did get a run + quick workout in while I was there. When I was younger I totally did not appreciate Maine (I’ve always called the lake house “Maine,” I realize it’s an entire state, but to me Maine = lake house). I was stuck up there with my family for a week with, *gasp,* no Internet. Now that I’m older and don’t have as much time to spend doing nothing, Maine is a welcomed break. Not gonna lie, it doesn’t hurt that now I can drive and can get Internet on my phone pretty much anywhere.

IMG_2651 IMG_2598

Sunsets and craft beer, doesn’t get much better.

IMG_2645 IMG_2593

A couple family pics. This is my dad’s “signature pose.”

THE NIKE TRAINING CLUB APP

I have been all about the Nike Training Club (NTC) app lately. The workouts are seriously challenging (especially for someone who hates any form of jumping, like me), but I’m always left feeling like a badass once I finish one. The one thing that would make these workouts even better would be if I finally got weights heavier than my current 5 pounders. I know, I’ve been saying that for a while, but I really do need to get on that!

SMOOTHIE BOWLS

IMG_2584

The most dramatically lit picture of a smoothie bowl ever.

I’ve been eating protein smoothie bowls like craaaaazy lately. I always add granola (my fave is Bob’s Red Mill Honey Oat granola) for a bit more crunch and staying power. I eat smoothie bowls year-round, but in the summer when it’s hella hot and humid, they’re the perfect post-workout breakfast.

ICE CREAM

FullSizeRender-44 IMG_2589 IMG_2649

I’ve definitely gotten ice cream at least 4 times in the past week. I’m usually pretty healthy during the day, but as soon as someone suggests ice cream I am IN. Especially when I’m in Maine, my parents are paying, and we’re getting Gifford’s ice cream (Peanut Butter Pie ice cream = heaven on earth). If I eat healthy during the day and workout, then a little ice cream’s not hurting anything. It’s good for the soul, really.

READING

I have an on-and-off relationship with reading. For years I used to read every night before I went to bed. Once college hit and I had roommates, more homework, and more school-related reading, I started going in-and-out on reading before bed. Opting to watch something low-key on Netflix or YouTube right before I fell asleep instead. However, in preparation for going to Maine, where I knew I’d want something non-Internet related to do by the lake and before bed (not trying to use all of my data), I borrowed The Last Summer (of You & Me) by Ann Brashares (aka the woman who wrote Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) from Maddie. It’s a pretty light read, and I’m only about a quarter of the way through, but I like it so far. I wouldn’t necessarily say this book is a favorite of mine, but since coming home from Maine, I’ve been reading instead of watching my show-of-choice (which is currently Barefoot Contessa, nothing is more soothing than watching the fabulous Ina Garten cooking & entertaining for her friends). It’s probably better for my brain to read than mindlessly watch a cooking show.

“WHICH WITCH” BY FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE

I mentioned in my last favorites post that Florence and the Machine’s new album was a favorite of mine, even though I hadn’t even finished my first full listen-through. Now that I’ve actually listened to the full album, I have a new jam/play on repeat song: Which Witch. I can’t even describe it other than to say it’s amazing, intense, theatrical, and beautiful all at once. Please just listen to it for yourself and experience the greatness.

THE 26 OZ JAR OF TEDDIE SUPER CHUNK PB

FullSizeRender-50

Until recently, I had never seen Teddie Super Chunk PB (my PB of choice) in anything other than a 16 oz glass jar. I’d say that jar lasts about a week for me. On a trip to Target, I found this gem: a 26 oz, plastic jar (don’t really care about the material it’s made out of, but I guess it’s worth noting) of the good stuff. A whole 10 more ounces of PB in one jar. That’s like, at least another 3 days of PB before I have to run to the store to feed my addiction once again. Plus the unit price was lower per-pound (or however it’s measured) compared to the 16 oz jar. More PB and saving a little bit of money. I’m so down.

Phew! That was kind of a lengthly favorites post. I suppose that’s a good thing though. Better to have an abundance of favorites than only a few. Let me know some of your favorites from the past week or so in the comments!

Of course, I can’t leave you lovely readers without some questions:

1. What concert did you go to most recently?

2. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? I switch between anything peanut butter flavored with lots of chunky good stuff in it to anything coffee flavored with lots of chunky good stuff in it.

3. Now that I’m back on reading, any book recommendations? I really like witty fiction, and funny or super depressing (it’s a big gap, I know) memoirs.

BYEEEEE

Julie

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites #2: AKA Saturday Favorites

  1. blackbeanqueen says:

    I’m not going to lie…I’m so jealous you went to Taylor Swift!
    1. I haven’t been to a concert since The Head and the Heart in December, but I’m going to Lollapalooza this upcoming weekend!
    2. Anything with chocolate, although lately I’ve been on a sorbet kick…I’m know it’s not ice cream, but lemon sorbet is amazing!
    3. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

    Like

Leave a Reply

