WIAW #3: Healthy Fuel

Happy What I Ate Wednesday/Hump Day to everyone! I’m sharing my day of eats from yesterday (aka Tuesday). Man, I love WIAWs. Maybe it’s because I’m super nosy and like to see what people eat and take a peek into what someone’s day looks like. Is that weird?

As always, I’m joining the  What I Ate Wednesday Party and linking up with Arman from the Big Man’s World. Thanks for hosting!

BREAKFAST #1 (PRE-RUN):

As I blogged about yesterday, I had my weekly long run (9 glorious miles!) set for Tuesday. My pre-long run breakfast usually looks about the same: a piece of Ezekiel toast + PB + banana + a drizzle of honey and a small cup of iced coffee to wash it all down. It fuels me up for my run, but isn’t toooo much. I’ve made the mistake of eating too much right before a long run, it’s not fun, trust me.

FullSizeRender-48

RUNNING FUEL:

During my long run I ate 4 orange flavored Pro Bar Bolt Energy Chews. They’re pretty good, I guess. I’m not gonna lie, I’m not the best judge of taste when I’m trying to run and chew at the same time. They definitely give me a boost of energy, so they’re doing what they’re supposed to in that sense!

FullSizeRender-32

BREAKFAST #2 (POST-RUN):

After showering, I quickly blended up a smoothie bowl consisting of: 1/2 cup (ish) unsweetened vanilla almond milk + 1 handful baby spinach + 1/2 cup frozen mango + 1/2 cup frozen blueberries + 1 scoop vanilla protein powder + 2 tsp ground flaxseed. I threw a handful of original Puffins on top for a bit of crunch.

FullSizeRender-49

LUNCH:

I worked from 10-2, and I would usually eat a snack at some point during work, but it was super busy and I didn’t get a chance to eat a snack real quick, so I was pretttttttty hungry come lunch time. I ate a super typical Julie lunch: a whole wheat wrap with a Laughing Cow Light Swiss wedge and spicy brown mustard, and deli turkey + red bell pepper + salsa inside. In addition, I had a side salad and, of course, baby carrots and hummus (I ended up polishing off the container, note to self: go to grocery store for more hummus).

FullSizeRender-51 FullSizeRender-47

SNACK ATTACK #1:

I spent the afternoon foam rolling and stretching, since I was in kind of a rush to get to work and didn’t have time to do all that jazz right after my run, as well as cleaning up my room, doing some homework, and just organizing my life a bit. Somewhere in that time frame, I ate cucumber and tomato (straight from my mom’s garden) with lite Caesar dressing. You could say it was a small salad, but I feel weird calling something a salad when it doesn’t have some sort of lettuce-y base. Who’s with me on that?

FullSizeRender-54

DINNER:

Dinner was AWESOME today because I went to Life Alive with Elizabeth. Life Alive is a semi-local, vegitarian, and organic restaurant (we went to the one in Lowell, but there is one in Cambridge and one in Salem, MA as well). It’s aesthetic (I love that word) is super hippie-dippy and it’s amazing. I got the Rebel Filling Bowl, which had quinoa + tofu + legumes + kale + carrots + beets + broccoli + their BOMB ginger nama-shoyu (don’t think I spelled that correctly) sauce that is one of the best things ever. If you’re ever in an area where there’s a Life Alive please go. It’s healthy and delicious, so really what more would you want in a restaurant?

FullSizeRender-52

LATE NIGHT SNACKS:

Obvi, I ate my cottage cheese + PB dessert and a spoonful of peanut butter (I am a creature of habit). It’s also worth noting that throughout the day, I’ve been doing some serious snacking on grapes. I never grabbed a bunch and sat down to eat them, but whenever I pass by the fridge, I find myself picking a few out of the bag and eating them. I try not to do a lot of mindless snacking, but the batch of grapes I got is really good, and, honestly, there are worse things I could be mindlessly snacking on.

FullSizeRender-55 FullSizeRender-50 FullSizeRender-53

That wraps up my Tuesday eats! I’m heading up to my lake house (more like a cabin in the woods, TBH) until Friday, thanks to a random couple of days in a row off, but be on the lookout for a recipe post soon.

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. Are you nosy like me and find WIAW posts help your nosy fix?

2. What have you been mindlessly snacking on lately? In addition to grapes, I’ve definitely been munching on the Slightly Sweet Boom Chicka Pop popcorn. It’s semi-addictive.

3. What is your usual pre-long run/intense workout breakfast (if anything)?

BYEEEEEE

Julie

 

4 thoughts on “WIAW #3: Healthy Fuel

    • kuliejulie says:

      Yes! My dad would always eat it so I thought it was “old man” food, but now that I’ve tried it and tasted the deliciousness that is cottage cheese + PB I’m allllll about it. It’s a great source of protein too. Thanks again for hosting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

