WIAW #3: A (mostly) Healthy Sunday

I’m not gonna lie, I usually fall off the healthy bandwagon a bit during the weekends. This Sunday I (a) actually did pretty well healthy-eating wise and (b) actually took pictures of what I ate (well, most of the food I ate). So, I bring you a WIAW of my Sunday eats!

As per usual, I’m linking up with Jen from Peas and Crayons. Thanks for hosting!

PRE-WORKOUT SNACK:

I went for a 6 AM run and did some butt and abs work after, and I needed something to hold me over until breakfast. I am definitely not someone who can work out on an empty stomach. I went with my go-to pre-workout snack, half a banana.

BREAKFAST:

I knew I wouldn’t have much time between showering and going to work at 9, so I planned ahead and made myself a bowl of chocolate-PB overnight oats (similar to PB Finger’s chocolate-PB overnight oats recipe, just without chia seeds and with an extra 2 tbsp PB2 in addition to the tbsp of regular PB…I’m a PB-aholic, I know) and chopped up half a banana to let kind of…soak (is that the best word to use here?) with the mixture overnight. In the morning, I chopped up some strawberries to throw on top because, well, why not?

FullSizeRender-34

My pistachio iced coffee from Heav’nlys went unpictured, but you and I both know I could never go a morning without coffee.

SNACK ATTACK #1:

As you may (or may not) know, I work at an Italian restaurant. For some reason, every Sunday morning the kitchen makes pizza for all the employees. I’m not sure when/how this tradition started, but I am certainly not complaining either! I had one slice of pepperoni around 11:30 when it was fresh out of the oven. It’s probably worth noting that one slice is actually 1/16th of a large pizza (compared to 1/8th), so I guess maybe that’s only half a slice of pizza?

Also, since I was working I’m not allowed to have my phone out, so the pizza went unpictured. I’m sure you can imagine what half of a slice of pepperoni pizza looks like, though. I have faith.

LUNCH:

In typical-Julie fashion, my lunch consisted of a turkey wrap with spicy brown mustard, tomatoes, red bell pepper, and salsa, and a salad with balsamic vinaigrette on the side. To round things out, I went for a nice bowl of fruit salad (grapes + strawberries + blueberries). Sometimes you just gotta stick with what you like!

FullSizeRender-35 FullSizeRender-36

DINNER:

My dad made pasta salad (whole wheat pasta + summer squash + broccoli + green beans + green bell pepper + carrots + Roubosto Italian dressing) and grilled chicken for dinner. I threw in some baby spinach with mine to bulk it up a bit. It was such a summery meal!

FullSizeRender-37

LATE NIGHT SNACKS:

Obviously, I had my cottage cheese + PB dessert and a spoonful of PB to end my day. I’m a creature of habit, I suppose.

FullSizeRender-21 IMG_2337

Double yum.

So that was my (mostly) healthy day of eats from Sunday. Let me know what you’ve been eating lately!

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. Can you work out on an empty stomach, or do you need at least a little snack to get going?

2. Do you eat a lot of the same foods/meals day-to-day, or do you mix it up a lot?

3. Can you remember the last day you went without coffee? I (sadly) cannot.

BYEEEEE

Julie

2 thoughts on “WIAW #3: A (mostly) Healthy Sunday

  1. pamelamuir753 says:

    Great post!

    1. Can you work out on an empty stomach, or do you need at least a little snack to get going?
    – I definitely need snacks even if it’s a few almonds, a rice cake, a piece of fruit I think steady eating throughout the day is the way to go…for me anyway!

    2. Do you eat a lot of the same foods/meals day-to-day, or do you mix it up a lot?
    – I’m trying to mix it up, I think it’s a good thing to do but inevitably I have my go-to meals and snacks that I keep coming back to…I keep a food journal including feelings and as long as what I’ve eaten has made me feel good I have no problems going back to it

    3. Can you remember the last day you went without coffee? I (sadly) cannot.
    – Me neither…coffee coffee coffee!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

