Bad Runs

Okay, so good news: I ran 8.5 miles last night. Bad news: A few walking breaks, an unexpected bathroom break, and an overall 9:53 pace. Not my best. Let’s back up, shall we?

Around 6 PM, I began “prepping” for my run. I grabbed a small iced coffee (caramel nut crunch, it was okay) to get a little caffeine kick, and put banana and honey inside a whole wheat wrap and just folded it in half. Then, I headed to my running route for the day, which was a route I used to do at school a lot by a river. It’s a 4 mile loop, so I figured I’d run it twice plus a little extra for that half mile at the end. I stretched and started running around 7.

FullSizeRender-39

This is my second coffee selfie in one day. Should I be proud or concerned?

I started out pretty strong, but I started losing steam the second time around. I ate my last two Gu Chomps at mile 4ish and then two of the Pro-Bar Chomps at mile 6ish. I took about a minute walking break while I ate my fuel, and was feeling slow, but steady after my second fuel-up.

FullSizeRender-5 FullSizeRender-32

Of course, around mile 7.5, I had to, well, use the bathroom. Had I known I was pretty close to a port-a-potty, I probably could have run to it, but I didn’t know if there was a bathroom in the vicinity, so I had to stop and walk to, well, quell things. About 2 minutes after I started walking I saw a port-a-potty (aka my holy grail at that point), and quickly handled things. Once I got out, I was good-to-go for the last mile. I totally could have avoided that last break if (a) I didn’t have to use the bathroom (which I realize is pretty inevitable sometimes, and luckily there will be bathrooms along the way on the half marathon trail) or (b) I knew the port-a-potty wasn’t too far away (and now I know for next time I run that loop).

This run has definitely reinforced to me that I need to work on pacing. I always run into (HAH) the issue of starting too fast and losing steam by the end. Negative splits are pretty foreign to me. At this point, I don’t necessarily want negative splits, just more even splits.

So not my best long run. Hey, maybe I am more of a morning runner than I give myself credit for, considering my better long runs seem to happen in the morning.

OH btw, completely random, but at Not Your Average Joes yesterday for lunch I got the half-sandwich-half-salad combo with the Not Your Average House Salad and the Mustard Crusted Chicken BLT. Not gonna lie, wasn’t a huge fan of the sandwich (it was kind of dry, though I would recommend the mustard crusted chicken meal, sans sandwich bread, which I actually removed and just ate the mustard crusted chicken inside), but the salad was good and OBVI the bread and oil at the beginning was worth the trip in itself.

FullSizeRender-38 FullSizeRender-40

Questions for you lovely humans:

1. How do you deal with having less-than-stellar runs?

2. How do you figure out how to pace yourself?

Any advice on either of these questions is greatly appreciated!

BYEEEE

Julie

Leave a Reply

