WIAW #2: A Case of the Mondays

Another Wednesday, another look into a day of eats! This time I wanted to show you what a non-long run day looks like, so I documented my meals and snacks from Monday to share with everyone. Also, I am jumping on board with the WIAW party again and linking up with Jen from Peas and Crayons!

BREAKFAST:

I made a quick, parfait-esque yogurt bowl for breakfast. Plain Greek yogurt + PB and other little mix-ins (basically the same as my cottage cheese creation that you’ll (spoiler alert) see later in this post, but with Greek yogurt, because for some reason I think that Greek yogurt = breakfast and cottage cheese = dessert? Idk. Anyway, the recipe for this is coming very soon). I topped it with a banana and some Bob’s Red Mill Honey Oat Granola.

FullSizeRender-4

Oh, and obvi some iced coffee to bring with me to work.

FullSizeRender-3

SNACK ATTACK #1:

I got to work at 10 and got pretty hungry around 1:00. I wanted to wait to eat until I got home, so I snacked on some almonds I had in my purse.

Side note: I always keep snacks in my purse (like a middle-aged mom). Usually it’s a granola bar or some sort of nuts. Something simple that won’t go bad if it’s in my purse for a little while.

LUNCH:

I got home from work a little after 3:00 and was pretty famished. I made a quick, pretty generic-Julie lunch of a wheat wrap with turkey, tomato and red bell pepper slices, spicy brown mustard, and salsa. On the side, I had some baby carrots with hummus (Cedar’s Garlic Lover’s Hummus = HEAVEN) and a little bowl (technically mug) of fruit salad (strawberries, blueberries, and grapes).

FullSizeRender-2 FullSizeRender FullSizeRender-1

SNACK ATTACK #2:

I ate a fuji apple around 5:45. Not gonna lie, it wasn’t the best apple ever. You can tell it’s definitely not apple season right now.

FullSizeRender-5

DINNER:

My grad school program started with online classes in the summer (womp, womp), and then we will have in-person classes (which I much prefer) in the fall. Every Monday my two classes have weekly discussion meetings from 6-8. After my second class ended, I made a random, but surprisingly tasty, dinner.

We had left over plain, whole wheat pasta in the fridge (I’m trying to get my family into whole wheat pasta, and it’s working *laughs evilly*). I put in in a salad with baby spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, shredded carrots, balsamic vinaigrette and…deli turkey. Kind of a strange addition, but I wanted some protein and my only two easy choices were deli turkey or deli ham. I’ve used deli turkey in salads before, but I was worried about how it would be with pasta. Luckily, it tasted fine with the pasta and the rest of the salad. Further affirming my beliefs that any food (other than dessert) can taste good in a salad (side note: I freaking love salad).

IMG_2424

LATE NIGHT:

I’m a creature of habit, especially when it comes to late night snacks. So naturally I had my cottage cheese + PB combo (in a cute little mug because I thought it would photograph better in that, and I think it did tbh), and, of course, I couldn’t got to bed without a spoonful of PB.

IMG_2425 IMG_2337

That’s it for my second WIAW! A little healthier than the first, if I do say so myself.

Questions for you lovelies:

1. What are some of your go-to lunches and snacks?

2. Do you have anything that you always eat, or at least eat almost everyday, like my late night snacks?

BYEEEEEEE

Julie

5 thoughts on “WIAW #2: A Case of the Mondays

  1. Cookie Yi says:

    I ALWAYS have a Greek Yogurt in the afternoon. I swear my day doesn’t feel complete without it! I think I might switch it up with cottage cheese once in a while though. I miss cottage cheese!

    Like

Leave a Reply

