Feelin’ 22 and Feelin’ Under the Weather

On June 17, I reached the true golden year: 22.

As a birthday present to me, please listen and jam. That’s all Tay Tay and I want.

Yes, it was my 22nd birthday! The first in a line of (hopefully many) birthdays that aren’t tied to any milestone.

I had a pretty low-key day. It started with a run, got a trenta iced coffee with my Starbucks birthday coupon (I could get any size for free, how could I not be ridiculous and get a trenta?), sat outside and enjoyed the weather with friends, and went to my favorite/the best restaurant in the world: Not Your Average Joes. Seriously, it’s worth going to even just for the bread/oil the give you to start your meal. If you’re curious (I’m sure you weren’t) got the mustard crusted chicken meal. I didn’t take a picture because I was ready to EAT by the time it got to the table.

I did, however, take a picture of my birthday pie.

IMG_2305

Pretty sure my family has had those 2-shaped candles for about 22 years.

I always get apple pie from this delicious local bakery in my hometown for my birthday. I like cake (90% because I like frosting), but I like apple pie a million times more, so why not have apple pie on my birthday? I’m a rebel without a cause, I know.

I have a couple birthday goals that I’d like to complete/work on during my 22nd year of living:

1. Run a half marathon. Hopefully I can check this one off in August!

2. Live in the moment a little more. I am constantly thinking about the future. I’m waiting for something to be over so I can move on to the next thing. I feel like I’m never happy exactly where I am. I need to stop and smell the roses instead of waiting to get to the sunflowers because I like those more (and inevitably when I get to the sunflowers, be waiting to get to the farm stand in this fictitious garden because I’m hungry or something).

3. Finish the projects I start. I have a bad habit of starting things and being super excited about them, and then never actually following through. For example, I’ve started a hand full of blogs that are now deserted (but this one has by far the best name and best layout, so honestly I’m doing better already). When I moved home from school in May, I started redecorating and reorganizing my room at home since I’ll be here for a yearish (and I should try to enjoy this year rather than impatiently counting down the days until I can move out). Well, let’s just say it’s been a little more than a month and I’m still not completely moved in. My room could be so sick, if I would just finish it!

My birthday was fantastic, yet, sadly, Taylor Swift failed to mention that being 22 also means your body deteriorates and you get some sort of throat virus or bad case of seasonal allergies issue two days after your birthday on the night you were supposed to go out with all your friends.

Yup, I woke up with a sore throat yesterday and was hoping it would go away as the day wore on. Sadly, it did not. It was worse this morning. I went to the doctor and learned that it’s not strep throat (which is good), rather it’s probably a different sort of throat virus OR I just am dealing with some crappy seasonal allergies. Per her recommendation, I picked up some Zyrtec, in case it is allergies, and per my own (virtually nonexistent) medical acumen, I am drinking lots of water and chugging Emergen-C. I don’t actually think Emergen-C helps according to science, it’s more of one of those things that exist because people will buy it, but whatever, I’m buying into the advertising hook, line, and sinker.

IMG_2309Zyrtec + Emergen-C  + Water = My first line of defense

I’m reallllllly hoping I feel well enough tomorrow to do my 7 mile long run I have planned for this week (I was actually supposed to do it today, but I just was not feeling it), or at least well enough to get in some sort of exercise, or just generally not feel gross.

As for right now, I’m about to take some NyQuill and knock out. Fingers crossed that a good night’s sleep will do the trick (also, running with a NyQuill hangover could be interesting, or end really terribly).

Questions for you lovely readers:

1. Do you eat anything other than cake on your birthday? Or if you do eat cake, what kind of cake? On a related note: are you team cake or team frosting?

2. What helps you get over a sore throat/cold quicky? Do you eat/drink anything special, or just focus on getting sleep and staying hydrated? Any tips are helpful!

3. Do you exercise when sick? I generally follow the “above the neck” rule: runny nose, headache, sore throat I’ll exercise with (a pretty light work out, though), but if I’m coughing or having stomach issues, or just not feeling up to it (case in point: today), I’m not going to work out.

BYEEEEE

Julie

One thought on “Feelin’ 22 and Feelin’ Under the Weather

Leave a Reply

